When I first looked at the title of the article, Knowing the Difference Between Digital Skills and Digital Literacies, and Teaching Both, I instantly understood that I’ve got it all wrong. I had no idea that digital skills and digital literacies are so different. One of the things that struck me was the difference in the uses of each.

Digital skills focus on the very broad knowledge, while digital literacy has so much more to it. Digital literacy is more of the user making the right choices of images, platforms, etc. The article refers to the use of social media during the Arab Spring, which, in my point of view, is an admirable example of digital literacy; given the fact that the choice of Facebook as a platform for Egyptians to communicate and share a cry of anguish. 

As a part of my life is dedicated to tutoring children, I found the section of Real-word learning very beneficial. I could relate to the concept of “teaching digital literacy in an authentic context that makes sense to students,” since my way of tutoring relies more on teaching progressively which helps my students on the long run. For instance, I allow my students to practice different ways of learning the vocabulary, spelling words, or homophones and I later allow them to choose which practice to apply while they study. 

Having discussed the importance of copyrights, privacy settings, and similar concepts in class. I found the Critical connections section comprehendible. To be honest, I had never discussed these concepts before so deeply to understand their importance and relevance. After reading through and getting to the part of using our judgment after learning about digital literacy, I found that digital literacy has a lot to do with awareness of the consequences of my decisions of the text I write and the platform I choose.

Now that I do understand, I can say that I’m digitally literate!

After reflecting on the article and finishing my Digital Confidence Profile, I think I might be leaning towards the Twisting Path as I found all the choices interesting so I would like to experience all of them.